Alvin Tollestrup
Related Links
Nomination Procedure
Tollestrup Award Committee
Tollestrup Award Winners
About Alvin Tollestrup
All Fellowships & Awards

Award Winners


2014 – Marcelle Soares-Santos
The 2014 Alvin Tollestrup award for Outstanding Postdoctoral Research is awarded to Marcelle Soares-Santos of Fermilab for her contributions to the Dark Energy Survey, which span from instrument construction and commissioning to high-level physics analysis.


2013 – Yanyan Gao
The 2013 Alvin Tollestrup award for Outstanding Postdoctoral Research is awarded to Yanyan Gao of Fermilab for her contributions to the Higgs boson discovery with CMS, specifically in the ZZ and WW decay channels and extraction of spin and parity information for the new boson.


2012 – Bodhitha Jayatilaka
The 2012 Alvin Tollestrup Award for Postdoctoral Research Excellence is given to Bodhitha Jayatilaka of Duke University for his leadership and significant contributions to the measurement of the W mass with the CDF experiment, bringing his Tevatron legacy measurement to an unprecedented level of precision.


2011 – Thomas Schwarz
The 2011 Alvin Tollestrup Award for Postdoctoral Research Excellence is given to Thomas Schwarz of the University of California, Davis, for his outstanding work on the understanding of top quark pair production at the Tevatron, on the measurement of top quark properties, such as the forward-backward asymmetry, and on the search for new physics signatures through the top signature.


2010 – Justin Evans
The 2010 Alvin Tollestrup award for Outstanding Postdoctoral Research will be awarded to Justin Evans of University College London for his work on the measurement of the muon neutrino and antineutrino oscillation parameters with the MINOS experiment. Dr. Evans made significant contributions to the measurement of the muon neutrino mass-squared splitting at the atmospheric scale and to the first direct measurements of the muon antineutrino oscillations parameters. Dr. Evans is recognized as an expert and a leader in the experimental analysis and comparison of the neutrino and antineutrino oscillation parameters.

2009 – Junjie Zhu
Junjie Zhu of Stony Brook University received the 2009 award for the his contributions to the DZero experimentís measurement of the W boson mass. Zhu understood the detectorís ability, wrote interface code so experimentalists and theorists could understand each otherís analyses, wrote prediction software and participated in writing the result paper.
2008 – Ben Kilminster
Ben Kilminster of Ohio State University received the 2008 award for his contributions to the Higgs search. He worked to improve the sensitivity of CDF and the Tevatron experiments for the Standard Model Higgs by reducing the rate at which the data collection system triggered on background events in the CDF detector. He played major roles in two key search modes for the Higgs, and helped create new techniques for extracting the Higgs signal from background events.
2007 – Yann Coadou
Yann Coadou of Simon Fraser University received the 2007 award for his work on the single top analysis at DZero.

2006 – Guillelmo Gomez Ceballos
View Paper
Guillelmo Gomez Ceballos of the University of Cantabria developed new analytic methods to separate Bs meson decays from other B meson decays, thereby squeezing more information out of the same sets of data.


2006 – Ivan Furic
Ivan Furic of the University of Chicago made an electronics board that allowed the triggering system to recognize and record the coveted hadronic Bs meson decays.


2006 – Stephanie Menzemer
Stephanie Menzemer of Universität Heidelberg, by determining the charge of kaons produced along with the strange quark-containing mesons, Menzemer could tell whether an oscillating Bs-Bs(bar) meson began as matter or antimatter.



2005 – Reinhard Schwienhorst
View paper
Reinhard Schwienhorst of Michigan State University received the 2005 award for his work in the development of novel multivariate techniques in the search for single top quark production. This technique effectively discriminates between the signal and backgrounds such as W+jets and top-antitop, and results in a factor of two improvement in sensitivity for this search. A single top signal should be attainable in Run 2 at the Tevatron.



2004 – Nicole Bell
View paper
Nicole Bell of the Particle Physics Division was the recipient of the award for 2004 in recognition of her work "determining, with colleagues, the conditions under which the cosmological neutrino abundance can differ from the value usually assumed, and for finding out how an anomalous abundance would change the implications of cosmology for neutrino mass."



2003 – Juan Cruz Estrada
Juan Cruz Estrada of the University of Rochester and a member of the the D0 collaboration was the recipient of the award for 2003 in recognition of his development and application of a new multivariate method to determine the top quark mass with greatly improved precision.