Related Links
Nomination Procedure
URA Thesis Award Committee
URA Thesis Award Winners
All Fellowships & Awards

Award Winners

2015 (for 2014 thesis) Samuel Dylan McDermott (University of Michigan, Dark Matter)
"Ratcheting up the Search for Dark Matter"
Advisor: Kathryn Zurek
Thesis Available Online

2014 (for 2013 thesis) Joseph Grange (University of Florida, MiniBooNE)
"First Measurement of the Muon Anti-Neutrino Charged Current Quasielastic Double-Differential Cross-Section"
Advisor: Heather Ray
Thesis Available Online

2013 (for 2012 thesis) Angelo Di Canto (University of Pisa, CDF)
"Measurement of CP–Violating Asymmetries in D0→π+π- and D0→K+K- Decays at CDF"
Advisor: Giovanni Punzi
Thesis Available Online

2012 (for 2011 thesis) Alexander Himmel (Caltech, MINOS)
"Antineutrino Oscillations in the Atmospheric Sector"
Advisor: Harvey Newman
Thesis Available Online

2011 (for 2010 thesis) Jointly awarded to:

Xuebing Bu (University of Science and Technology of China, D0)
"Higgs to gamma gamma Search and Direct Photon Pair Production Differential Cross-Section Measurement at D0"
Advisers: Liang Han and Yanwen Liu
Thesis Available Online

and Simone Pagan Griso (Universita Degli Studi di Padova, CDF)
"Searches for a High-Mass Higgs Boson Produced in p-pbar Collisions at sqrt(s) = 1.96 TeV
Advisor: Attilio Stella
Thesis Available Online

2010 (for 2009 thesis) Tingjun Yang (Stanford, MINOS)
"A Study of Muon Neutrino to Electron Neutrino Oscillations In The MINOS Experiment"
Advisor: Stan Wojcicki
Thesis Available Online

2009 (for 2008 thesis) Mikko Voutilainen (Helsinki University of Technology, D0)
"Measurement of the inclusive jet cross-section in p-pbar collisions at sqrt(s) = 1.96 TeV"
Advisor: Jorma Tuominiemi
Thesis Available Online

2008 (for 2007 thesis): Jointly awarded to Ryan Patterson (Princeton, MiniBooNE)
"A search for muon neutrino to electon neutrino oscillations at delta(m2)>0.1 eV2"
Advisor: Peter Meyers
Thesis Available Online

and Peter Wagner (Texas A&M, CDF)
"Search for heavy, long-lived particles that decay to photons in p anti-p collisions at s**(1/2) = 1.96 TeV"
Advisor: David Toback
Thesis Available Online

2007 (for 2006 thesis): Tim Scanlon (Imperial College, London, DZero)
"b-tagging and the Search for Neutral Supersymmetric Higgs Bosons at DZero"
Advisor: Gavin Davies
Thesis Available Online

2006 (for 2005 thesis): Jean-Francois Arguin (Toronto, CDF)
"Measurement of the Top Quark Mass with In Situ Jet Energy Scale Calibration Using Hadronic W Boson Decays at CDF-II"
Advisor: Prof. Pekka Sinervo
Thesis Available Online

2005 (for 2004 thesis): Konstantin Anikeev (MIT, CDF)
"Measurement of the lifetimes of B meson mass eigenstates"
Advisor: Prof. Christoph Paus
Thesis Available Online

2004 (for 2003 thesis) : Florencia Canelli (Rochester, DZero)
"Helicity of the W Boson in Single - Lepton T Anti-T Events
Advisor: Prof. Tom Ferbel
Thesis Available Online

2003 (for 2002 thesis) : Valmiki Prasad (Chicago, KTeV)
Measurements of Direct CP — Violation and CPT — Invariance in the Neutral Kaon System
Advisor: Prof. Ed Blucher
Thesis Available Online

2002 (for 2001 thesis) : Un Ki Yang (Rochester, NuTeV)
"A Measurement of Differential Cross-Sections in Charged Current Neutrino Interactions on Iron and a Global Structure Functions Analysis"
Advisor: Prof. Arie Bodek
Thesis Available Online

2001 (for 2000 thesis) : Michael Fitch (Rochester, Accelerator research)
"Electrooptic Sampling of Transient Electric Fields from Charged Particle Beams"
Advisor: Prof. Adrian C. Melissinos
Thesis Available Online

2000 (for 1999 thesis) : Peter Shawhan (Chicago, KTeV)
"Observation of Direct CP Violation in K(S,L) --> Pi Pi Decays"
Advisor: Prof. Bruce D. Winstein
Thesis Available Online

1999 (for 1998 thesis) : Petar Maksimovic (MIT, CDF)
"Observation of Pion — Bottom Meson Charge Flavor Correlations and Measurement of the Time Dependent Neutral Bottom Meson — Anti-Neutral Bottom Meson Mixing in Proton — Anti-Proton Collisions"
Advisor: Prof. Paraskevas A. Sphicas
Thesis Available Online

1998 (for 1997 thesis) : Ian Adam (Columbia, DZero)
Measurement of the W Boson Mass with the DZero Detector Using the Electron E(T) Spectrum"
Advisor: Prof. Michael Tuts
Thesis Available Online